Don Shomette

People are the Prize

Don’t Wait…

Leave a comment

During seminars, when I ask how we can make things better I usually get these types of responses.

More funding.
Better support from leadership.
Get parents to start being parents.
Better curriculum.
Higher pay.

While all of these observations may be true, every single one of them points to someone or something else being the fix. What I don’t hear in response to this question are personal declarations to make things better.

I must provide better leadership.
I need to treat people better.
I have to put others’ needs before mine.
I have to personally be the example of real change.
I just gotta try harder.

I don’t know of any job where you always have all the support, materials, and funds you need to do the job. I seriously doubt that such a job even exists, has ever existed, or will ever exist. Certainly I’ve never experienced it. What I have experienced is the transformational power of refusing to allow less than ideal circumstances hinder your desire for success. When this type of energy is ‘unleashed’ it has the ability to save lives, liberate countries, and alter the very course of history.

This I know for a fact because I’ve seen it firsthand.

I’m not telling anyone to accept less or to do more with less. Just the opposite. What I’m trying to say is don’t miss the opportunity to achieve great things while you’re waiting for someone else to do the right thing. So when the conversation turns to how others must do more in order for things to get better, refo­cus it by asking this one simple but life changing question.

“But what can we do right now to make things better?”

dont-wait

Author: Don Shomette

Don Shomette is a trainer, speaker, consultant, and owner of People are the Prize, a violence prevention company that helps people to prevent and survive a school attack. He has spent a lifetime working with police officers and principals and is consistently evaluated by those who attend his trainings as one of the best instructors ever. Don challenges, entertains, and helps school personnel to think of preventing violence in a new and positive way.

Leave a Reply

